Code of Conduct

A code of conduct should contain explicit general principles combined with specific rules of conduct that set reasonable expectations and provide a basis for making informed decisions.

Quebec's major terminological dictionary defines ethics as "the set of rules and duties that govern a profession, the conduct of those who practice it, and the relationship between them and their clients or the public. Rules of good conduct constituting the morals of a profession".

According to the Office des professions, the purpose of a code of conduct is to establish standards of conduct. The purpose of this framework is to prevent certain behaviours that could lead to a loss of public confidence. For this reason, ethical rules are intended to minimise the possibility of misunderstandings about what is acceptable behaviour. It also informs us that other organizations, other than professional orders, may adopt a Code of Conduct. Lobbyists, the Chambre de la sécurité financière, claims adjusters, Régie du logement regulators, police officers and members of the National Assembly have adopted a code of conduct.

You can now download your copy of the Code of Conduct.

The QASCC presents this abridged version of the Competency Framework created by Éduconseil Inc. for the Association. The creation of the Competency Framework related to the practice of the Special Care Counselling profession in Quebec is an essential part of a QASCC project which aims to promote excellence in the field of special education.

The association worked to produce an official document that presents the profession in a realistic and complete way and that would serve as an essential reference to accomplish its mission as a professional association as well as to support its members through their professional responsibilities. The Association also wishes that the Competency Framework serves as a guide in the context of the creation of a professional order dedicated to the profession.

You can now download your copy of the Competency Framework.

The Quebec Association of Special Care Counsellors (QASCC) wishes to contribute to the broad reflection undertaken by the Commission by formally submitting this brief.

Our brief addresses the roles played by Special Care Counsellors as well as our analysis of the current issues regarding the services to be offered to children and families who are very vulnerable. Finally, it suggests possible solutions and makes certain recommendations. We hope to be able to present our brief to the Commissioners and, if necessary, answer their questions.

On December 11, 2019, the QASCC submitted the brief to the Special Commission on the Rights of the Child and Youth Protection.

You can view the brief now!

Mémoire pour la Commission spéciale sur les droits des enfants et la protection de la jeunesse

Code de déontologie

Un code de déontologie doit contenir des principes généraux explicites combinés à des règles de conduite précises qui permettent de fixer des attentes raisonnables et de fournir des éléments pour prendre des décisions réfléchies.

Le grand dictionnaire terminologique du Québec définit la déontologie comme un «Ensemble des règles et des devoirs qui régissent une profession, la conduite de ceux qui l’exercent, les rapports entre ceux-ci et leurs clients ou le public. Règles de bonne conduite constituant la morale d'une profession».

Selon l’Office des professions, un code de déontologie a pour objet d’établir des normes de conduite. Cet encadrement vise à prévenir certains comportements pouvant entraîner une perte de confiance du public. C’est la raison pour laquelle les règles déontologiques visent à minimiser les possibilités de malentendus à propos de ce qu’il convient d’appeler un comportement acceptable. Il nous informe également que d’autres organisations, autres que les ordres professionnels, peuvent adopter un Code de déontologie. Les lobbyistes, la chambre de la sécurité financière, les experts en sinistres, les régisseurs de la Régie du logement, les policiers et les membres de l'Assemblée nationale se sont dotés d'un code de déontologie.

Vous pouvez dès maintenant télécharger votre copie du code de déontologie.

LE RÉFÉRENTIEL DE COMPÉTENCES: UN DOCUMENT ESSENTIEL

L’AEESQ vous présente ce document qui a été réalisé par la société Éduconseil Inc. pour le compte de l’Association. La production du référentiel de compétences lié à l’exercice de la profession d’éducatrice spécialisée ou éducateur spécialisé au Québec fait partie intégrante d’un projet de l’AEESQ visant l’excellence de la pratique professionnelle en éducation spécialisée.

En effet, l’Association souhaite avoir à sa disposition un document officiel qui présente la profession de façon rigoureuse, réaliste et complète et qui, ce faisant, constituera une référence précieuse pour réaliser sa mission en tant qu’association professionnelle de même que pour accompagner ses membres dans l’accomplissement de leurs responsabilités professionnelles. L’Association souhaite également que le référentiel de compétences serve de repère dans le contexte de la création d’un ordre professionnel dédié à la profession.

Vous pouvez dès maintenant télécharger votre copie du référentiel de compétences.

.